The Power of Prayer

Several years ago I remember a song that was making its rounds on the airwaves about having one of those days when things just aren’t going your way.  A day when you didn’t want to wake up.  A day when everything just started off on the wrong foot.  It happens to everyone.  We have found different ways of describing those types of days.  “We woke up on the wrong side of the bed.”  “We are having a case of the Mondays (if it is a Monday).”

This morning has been one of those mornings.  This is why I am thankful for God’s reset button.  While it is not a button I want to take advantage of or abuse the privileges thereof I am truly thankful that exists.  When things get out of hand, when things feel like they are spiraling out of control and you feel like Satan has his grip firmly upon your heart, you can bow your hearts in prayer and ask God to help you start all over.

Prayer might be the most valuable resource available to mankind and it is also the most neglected resource we have. Sadly many people have convinced themselves that prayer is a sign of weakness.  They think that asking for help from someone means that you are incapable of doing anything right and therefore unworthy, undeserving, and useless.  Such couldn’t be further from the truth.

Prayer gives us access to the divine Father in heaven.  He is all powerful, all knowing and is the only being in the universe that actually  “gets you.”  and more importantly, prayer gives us access to a God that can do something helpful.  He has the power and wisdom to answer prayers in the most useful and most helpful and most encouraging of ways (even if in the moment it might not feel that way).

For instance, as I said, I woke up on the wrong side of the bed this morning.  I tried to put a smile on.  I tried to fake it till I make it.  I failed.  Miserably.  So, I decided to hit my reset button.  I went to God asking for forgiveness.  He has promised us that he will indeed forgive us of our sins.  “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness (I John 1:9).”  Again, this doesn’t mean that I keep sinning and let God clean up my mess all day.  It means that I get to start with a clean slate.  God cleaned up the mess and now I can go about the rest of my day not faking it, but living it.

Prayer is not an easy button, but it is a way to restart your day.  If things aren’t going well, ask God to intervene.  He is faithful and will not fail you (I Cor. 10:13).

Leave a Reply

