Part of the Family

For those that following me weekly, you would have noticed there was no post last week.  Last week I attended our annual Home School camp getaway.  Our particular group that gets together is a relatively small group (we were around 50 this year and our largest group was the upper 70s).  But, what makes this group special is not the fact that we all home school.  (There are home schoolers that we are friends with here in town).  No, what makes this group special is that we are part of the same family of God.  These people are my brothers and sisters in Christ.  Faith is at the core of who each of us are.  Each night there was bound to be some spiritual discussion going on around the table.  I know on Tuesday night I was up way past my bed time (about 3:30 in the morning) talking about spiritual things.  These subjects included what we have been studying, the spiritual development of our children, struggles being a Christian father, and many more subjects.  This year there were several families that I didn’t know.  But, by the end of the week I not only knew their names but felt like I had bonded with them.  When spending time with those of a like and precious faith, it doesn’t take long to realize how truly large your family really is.

He replied to him, “Who is my mother, and who are my brothers?”  Pointing to his disciples, he said, “Here are my mother and my brothers.  For whoever does the will of my Father in heaven is my brother and sister and mother (Matt. 12:48-50).”  It doesn’t get any plainer than this.  Jesus proclaimed that his family is not one of flesh and blood but of spirit.  He said this as his earthly family was looking for him.  In doing so, he showed that God’s family, God’s children, those obedient to the will of God should be who our real family is.  Now, I love my parents.  I love my brother and my sister.  I always will.  But, each time I go to camp I am reminded of something.  It is a really amazing opportunity I have.  I get to spend every day, all day with God’s people.  We don’t have cellphone service.  We don’t have the internet.  We don’t have TVs.  We just have each other and God’s word.  It really is fascinating how much you can grow when the distractions of living in this modern world are stripped away.

Of course, when I come home, I find myself longing to see my family here.  I hate the fact that I have to wait until Wednesday night to see many of them and until Sunday to see most of them.  I cannot begin to explain the joy I felt when I just ran into a couple of them at the ball fields last night.  I had spent 13 of the previous 15 days with my fellow Christians (we had a week long series on I Peter at our local church the week before we left).  The latter have of those 13 days was spent all day with Christians.  On Monday night I was feeling the withdrawal.  Even as I type this I long to spend some more time with my fellow Christians and am plotting up opportunities to do so.

Spending my days with fellow Christians is what gets me through this world.  It reminds me that I am not alone.  Being a part of a God-fearing, bible-believing, service minded church is something every Christian needs.  Forget the fact that I believe it is commanded (Heb. 10:25).  I think it is necessary to keeping our selves growing, faithful, and strong.

 

Leave a Reply

